Stuff N Fluff

Merry Happy Jolly Folly Holiday!

Yes, I’m dressed up like a Christmas tree because…why not? Don’t I look sexy? Oh yeah

How are your holidays going?

Mine are going well so far considering that it feels more like summer than Christmas time.

80s Christmas

This is one of the best Christmases I’ve had ever.

Why? Because I ditched the whole “I’m supposed to feel nostalgic” thing and just enjoyed the things I could.

Yeah, so a lot of my Christmases have really sucked for me. Combo of a hard life and untreated depression. Listening to any Christmas music that is supposed to conjure up awe or nostalgia… it’d just make me feel sick. Then I’d feel worse because I didn’t feel the warm fuzzies like I was supposed to…

I’m sure many of you can relate. The holidays aren’t always the easiest.

bah humbug

(You said it, girl…)

I decided that rather than trying to evoke nostalgia or giving up and wallowing in my misery (both of which would put me in a bad psychological state) I’d make fun of the holiday and try to have a good time:

No time like Christmas to let your perverted side out. “Adult” coloring books, eh? Nah, it wasn’t naughty (bummer) but I did spend several hours coloring today which was fun! Look what I made:

20151225_180021-1.jpg

Plus, look what else I got for Christmas:

20151224_204851-1.jpg

I love yarn crafts AND Star Wars! What a great combo!!!

My new dishcloths express well how I felt receiving the gift:

20151224_204955-1.jpg

If your holidays are sucking and I haven’t yet cheered you up maybe this will (it gave me a good smile):

 

41 thoughts on “Merry Happy Jolly Folly Holiday!

  1. I absolutely adore those little knitted SW characters….yoda even! Super cute.

    This holiday is going down as the worst in the history of my life…both for religious and nonreligious reasons. Thank the fuck it’s over. I don’t feel like elaborating so I’ll just leave it at that. I’m glad to hear you were able to find a way to enjoy yours. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know…aren’t they adorable???

      “Thank the fuck it’s over.”

      No need to elaborate (unless you change your mind at some point and decide you want to. In that case, go ahead…). You summed up my usual sentiments.

      I’m hoping things get better for you. May 2016 be less sucky!

      Like

      1. Yes! I have lots of coloring books, though…truth be told, I prefer the ones that are meant for kids. Something about that rough paper and good ole crayons.

        And I love little yarn crafts, but I don’t know how to make them!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I always thought that adults should get coloring books/games with their menus while waiting for food. How much more enjoyable would that be? ❀

          I have to admit, I am a little bit intimidated by the Star Wars crochet set. I’ve knitted before (simple things like scarves and hats,) but I’m not so great at anything where I need to be precise. I’m doubtful it will turn out well. Lol.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It will be fun, though! I hope it will be. πŸ™‚

            I have one pair of knitting needles and some old yarn. I never learned how to use them…maybe one day.

            We should totally get coloring sheets and crayons at dinner. Kids shouldn’t get to bogart all the fun!

            Like

      1. “Mr. Hankey’s Christmas Classics”

        While thematically “The Most Offensive Song Ever” would have been more appropriate considering the “Let it Snow” wrapping paper, I still went with “Christmas Time in Hell.”

        That said, I must admit that I’m a terrible sinner. I mentally said, “Yes, please,” when I saw the meme. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The worse for me was being forced to participate in things I didn’t want to do- but a couple of years ago I put an end to it. This part of the year now belongs to me. I only see people I want to see, I only eat foods I enjoy etc. No more expectations or obligations. Mike and I even decided we didn’t want to give each other gifts just because it happened to be winter solstice. We much prefer letting things flow organically and buy each other something when we know the other wants or needs something in particular (no matter what time of the year it might be.)

    Liked by 2 people

      1. OMG!!! Remind me to never visit that part of Australia unless it’s winter. Or summer? Do you down under refer to the months December, January, and February as “winter” even though it’s hot? Or am I just speaking from a Northern Hemisphere bias? πŸ˜‰

        Like

        1. Our Summer is December, January and February. We base it on calendar months not the equinox as the seasons change earlier in the Southern hemisphere because there is more water so the temperature lag that applies in the Northern hemisphere is less pronounced in the south.

          Australia is a nice place if you live near the coast. It becomes more trying when one lives in the interior.

          Like

    1. 96F! Ugh, I’m so sorry. Has it cooled down any?

      This song is the best, Peter! LOL. Do kids in AU sing this song for Christmas? If not, they should — it’s great!

      Like

      1. The next day it cooled down to around 60 f. The average maximum temperature here in Summer is around 70 f. I happen to live in a mild spot in the southern most part of Australia, 2,500 miles from the Northern tip. Hence the picture below of Aurora Australis (the Southern lights).

        Like

    1. Hey there! I don’t know how I lost your blog but I went searching for you and found you again. Yay! Thanks for the comment. I actually had a good holiday this year. How was yours?

      Like

Leave a Reply

