Slammin Jammin · Swinging at Moody Park · Twirly Whirly Girly

Hi friends! It’s been a while. Sorry for my absence. There has been a lot of life changes which has been robbing me of my free time and eliminating my desire to write. It happens, right? I’m sure you’ll be hearing all about it in the near future.

For now I wanted to share about

how much I’m loving the new Sia album!

Sia-This-Is-Acting-2016-1200x1200

What’s up with the half black/half blonde wig?

What’s up with Sia always hiding her face when she performs?

sia bag over her head.jpg

Her performances and videos are all eccentric and her songs are emotionally intense. Even though she’s written songs for famous pop artists like Beyonce, Rhianna, Katy Perry (and more!) there is something unique about the songs that she performs for herself and the way she sings them. I love her creative use of metaphors. I adore the crack in her voice when she hits the high notes. It’s emotionally raw but controlled. Amazing!

I love new album This is Acting equally as much as her last album 1000 Forms of Fear and possibly even more. Her last album contained hit songs such as Chandelier, Elastic Heart, and Big Girls Cry which are all achy and heartbreaking.

Somehow her new album, while emotionally intense, seems more hopeful. Perhaps I’m just viewing it through the new lens of hope that I have now that my life is changing for the better.

There are so many songs I love on Sia’s new album so far. From the dancy tropical house-style Cheap Thrills to the passionate romance of House on Fire, but here are my absolute favorites:

Bird Set Free

Now I fly, hit the high notes
I have a voice, have a voice, hear me roar tonight

And I don’t care if I sing off key
I find myself in my melodies
I sing for love, I sing for me
I shout it out like a bird set free

Why I love this song:

I have a voice and it doesn’t matter if it’s pretty or perfect because it’s mine. I’ve always loved to sing and I guess I’m okay at it because I was in competition choir in high school, but I am ashamed to do it in front of others because I’m ashamed of who I am inside. I have this intense desire to be seen but yet am I deeply afraid of it.

Alive

I found solace in the strangest place
Way in the back of my mind
I saw my life in a stranger’s face
And it was mine!


I’m still breathing
I’m alive!


Why I love this song:

I talked about this song in another post: I’m Alive!

This fire inside of us, this energy–what some call the human spirit–has died over and over again inside of me. Thanks depression! Not only did my depression do this to me but I was broken over and over by Christianity and this was considered a good thing: to be broken and humble and weak and contrite before God. It nearly killed me! I’ve wanted to be dead most of my life. Now I want to live and I want to celebrate the fact that I am alive!

Unstoppable

I’ll put my armor on, Show you how strong I am
I’ll put my armor on, I’ll show you that I am
I’m unstoppable today
Unstoppable today

Why I love this song:

This critics say this song is about empowerment. I say this song is about someone trying to convince others and themselves that they can make it even when they really don’t feel they can. They are faking a brave front. I can relate to that.

I love this video. It wasn’t done by Sia. It’s some unidentifiable clip from a movie or music video that someone put together with this song. I feel like that kid running in slow motion past all the troubles of his life. I can’t seem to go fast enough and I feel like I’m slowly moving through and hopefully eventually out of chaos. I’m doing the most difficult things I’ve ever done.

Since deconverting from Christianity I’ve finally felt free to explore who I am and to grow. I was stunted for so long. I’m growing into a more authentic and joyful person. I’d like to thank Sia for giving me the courage to know that it’s okay to have intense emotions and it’s okay to be quirky. Which I do and I am.

That’s it for now, friends. I hope to write again here soon.

9 thoughts on “

  1. I love the videos. Thank you for sharing. There are very powerful words in those lyrics. I feel like I’m not in touch with the music world out there and you bring a bit to me. I feel in ways you keep me young and “in the loop”. It’s a one-person loop though — just me.

    Please keep sharing I enjoy reading your thoughts as you journey through this thing called life. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those really are powerful songs aren’t they! Both the lyrics and the way they’re sung! I can understand how you relate to them so well, especially at this time in your life.

    I never really knew much about Sia until that song came out with that AMAZING dance routine of that girl, dancing around a house. That was to me, the most beautiful, emotion filled dancing I’d ever seen, obviously combined with Sia’s amazing song.

    I love to sing too Q, but not in front of people, unless I’m singing with others. We had a singing session recently while on holidays, with my little sis, my hubbie and few of her friends and me. It was just like old times. Soooo enjoyable! Lots of harmonizing, and playing our old favourites from the 70’s and 80’s mainly. And I have to say it sounded pretty bloody good too! LOL. I’ll bet you and me would make beautiful music together. One day hey. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

        1. LOL! I’ve never been called a hipster before! I think I might be too old. Is there an age limit on hipsterness?

          Thanks for making me smile! I especially appreciate it because I’m having a difficult day.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

